New Ramaphosa Cabinet: 2019

The President has announced his Executive which will serve the country’s Sixth Administration. Let’s take a look at some of the changes made.

The Cabinet is made up of the President, Deputy President and Ministers. The Deputy President is Mr David Mabuza. As per his 2018 State of the Nation Address, which referred to the need for reconfiguration of government, changes have been made to several ministerial portfolios. These include:


  • Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries: NOW: Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development
  • Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries: NOW: Environment, Forestry and Fisheries
  • Telecommunications and Postal Services and Communications: NOW: Communications
  • Higher Education and Training and Science and Technology: NOW: Higher Education, Science and Technology
  • Human Settlements and Water and Sanitation: NOW: Human Settlements, Water and Sanitation
  • Mineral Resources and Energy
  • Sports and Recreation and Arts and Culture: NOW Sports, Arts and Culture
  • Economic Development is now combined with Trade and Industry

Other changes:

  • Labour portfolio is now known as Labour and Employment


A number of changes have been made to the Ministers serving in the Executive. New faces include

  • Ms Thoko Didiza: Minister of Agriculture, Land Reform and Rural Development (she previously served as Minister of Agriculture and Land Affairs between 1999 and 2006. In the Fifth Parliament she served as House Chairperson and as Chairperson of the Ad Hoc Committee to amend section 25 of the Constitution.

  • Ms Barbara Creecy: Minister of Environment, Forestry and Fisheries served as MEC for Finance in the Gauteng province.

  • Mr Ronald Lamola: Minister of Justice and Correctional Services - history in the ANC Youth League and youngest member of the ANC National Executive Committee. Mr Lamola has a professional background in law.

  • Mr Jackson Mthembu: Minister in the Presidency – Mr Mthembbu served as the ANC’s Chief Whip in the National Assembly and MEC for Transport in Mpumalanga (1997 – 1999)

  • Mr Senzo Mchunu: Minister of Public Service and Administration – previously served as Premier of KZN (2013 – 2016).

  • Ms Patricia De Lille: Minister of Public Works and Infrastructure - previously Mayor of Cape Town from 2011 to 2018 and Western Cape Provincial Minister of Social Development from 2010 to 2011. She is the only member of the Cabinet not representing the ANC – she is the leader of the Good party.

  • Ms Khumbudzo Ntshavheni: Minister of Small Business Development- former chief operating officer (COO) for the State Information Technology Agency (SITA).

Ministers who have not made back into the Cabinet include:

  • Mr Senzeni Zokwana
  • Ms Bathabile Dlamini
  • Mr Derek Hanekom
  • Adv Michael Masutha
  • Dr Rob Davies
  • Dr Siyabonga Cwele
  • Ms Nomvula Mokonyane
  • Ms Mildred Oliphant
  • Ms Thokozile Xasa
  • Mr Gugile Nkwinti
  • Ms Susan Shabangu
  • Ms Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba
  • Ms Nomaindia Mfeketo

*The President also appointed 34 Deputy Ministers to his National Executive.



Keep comments free of racism, sexism, homophobia and abusive language. People's Assembly reserves the right to delete and edit comments

(For newest comments first please choose 'Newest' from the 'Sort by' dropdown below.)