#Elections2019: Who are you voting for?

Jan. 1, 2019 (5 months, 2 weeks ago)

President Cyril Ramophosa, in his 2019 State of the Nation Address (SONA), announced that the 2019 elections will take place on 8 May 2019.

South Africa’s six democratic national and provincial elections have either taken place in April, May or June:

2019 – 8 May 2019

2014 – 7 May 2014

2009 – 22 April 2009

2004 – 14 April 2004

1999 – 2 June 1999

1994 – 27 April 1994

*You can still make an appointment to register at your local IEC office however the voters' roll closes at 5pm on the day that the election is proclaimed (published in the Government Gazette); otherwise it's impossible to vote in that election

Please check your voter registration status online, SMS your ID number to 32810, or check on the IEC's mobile app.

As election fever slowly builds, we want to know who South Africans are voting for. If you already made up you mind, let us know below:


Keep comments free of racism, sexism, homophobia and abusive language. People's Assembly reserves the right to delete and edit comments

(For newest comments first please choose 'Newest' from the 'Sort by' dropdown below.)